Universitas Atma Jaya Yogyakarta (English: Atma Jaya University, Yogyakarta), shortened as UAJY, is a university located in Depok, Sleman RegencySpecial Region of YogyakartaIndonesia. UAJY is one of the 50 most promising university and one of the best six universities in Indonesia in quality assurance according to Directorate of Higher Education, Department of National Education. Currently the university offers 12 undergraduate and 7 graduate programs, with an estimated ±11.307 students. There are four main campus buildings: Alfonsus Building in Mrican, Thomas Aquinas Building in Babarsari, Bonaventura Building in Babarsari, Teresa Building in Babarsari.


The university was established on 27 September 1965 by the Yogyakarta branch of the Atma Jaya Catholic University Institute of Indonesia. The founders were R.A. Soehardi, A.J. Liem Sioe Siet A., Sutijoso, Oey Liang Lee and Leo Sukoto. The name of “Atma Jaya” is taken from Sanskrit. Atma means soul, Jaya means superior. Thus, Atma Jaya means a superior soul. UAJY’s aspiration from the beginning is to provide higher education with excellence in academics and education with high moral values.[1]

Originally an extension of the Universitas Atma Jaya in Jakarta, it became an independent university under the auspices of the Slamet Rijadi Foundation on 31 August 1973. The university borrowed classrooms from the IKIP (Teaching and Education Institute) Sanata Dharma, now the Universitas Sanata Dharma, until its own campus buildings, at Mrican Baru Street, were finished in 1980.

Growing student numbers led to the Faculty of Engineering and the Administration department being moved to a new building in Babarsari Road in 1990, in conjunction with the celebrations of the silver anniversary of the founding of the university. In 1995, the Economics Faculty and the Postgraduate Program moved into a new building beside the existing building in Babarsari Road. In 2005 a new building was built adjacent to the Faculty of Engineering and the Administration department to host the Faculty of Social and Political Science. The University also acquired the former BHS Bank building to host administrative department.

An integrated four-story library was built next to the Faculty of Social and Political Science building. It will host library and Information Systems Center. The library building officially opened in a Mass led by Mgr. Ignatius Suharyo (archbishop) in October 2009.

In late 2010, a project for a new building was started. It was planned as an addition to the Faculty of Social and Political Science Building. The newer building is on the east of the current building.

See Programs & Courses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *